EWG Background


East-West Gateway Council of Governments (EWG) was incorporated in 1965 to provide a forum for cooperative problem-solving and the coordinated development of regional policy.  EWG’s founders were the chief elected officials of the city of St. Louis, Franklin, Jefferson, St. Charles, and St. Louis counties in Missouri and Madison, Monroe, and St. Clair counties in Illinois.

Originally charged with coordinating transportation funding for St. Louis regional projects, EWG’s purview has expanded through the years to bring together governmental officials, planning professionals, citizens, and private sector partners to develop regional and local plans for transportation, environmental quality, housing, emergency preparedness, and access to employment.

Organizational Structure

The Board of Directors

EWG is governed by a 29 member Board of Directors that is comprised of local government representatives and citizens from across the St. Louis region.  The Board of Directors also includes representatives from the Missouri Department of Transportation, the Illinois Department of Transportation, St. Louis’s transit authority – Bi-State Development, the State of Missouri, and the State of Illinois.

EWG’s Staff

EWG’s Executive Director works with the Board to set agency policy and define the agency’s initiatives.  EWG’s initiatives are accomplished by EWG’s planning and support staff who are grouped into program and functional areas, including:  Transportation Planning, Community Planning, Research Services, Regional Security, and Administration.  Each of these areas houses a strong mix of academic backgrounds and professional experiences.