About Us

East-West Gateway Council of Governments (EWG) is a regional council of governments (COG).  As a COG, EWG provides a forum where local governments in the bi-state St. Louis region can coordinate and work together to address and solve problems that cross jurisdictional boundaries.  EWG facilitates cooperative planning and problem-solving among and between any of its member local governments that believe they can accomplish better things by working together than by acting separately.

EWG is also the federally designated metropolitan planning organization (MPO) for the St. Louis region, which includes the city of St. Louis, Franklin, Jefferson, St. Charles, and St. Louis counties in Missouri and Madison, Monroe, and St. Clair counties in Illinois.  As the St. Louis region’s MPO, the federal government and the states of Missouri and Illinois have vested EWG with legal authority and responsibility for implementing the federal metropolitan transportation planning process in the St. Louis Metropolitan Planning Area.