ILLINOIS TRANPORTATION PLANNING COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES January 5, 2023

A meeting of the Illinois Transportation Planning Committee was called to order by Mr. Norm Etling of the St. Clair County Highway Department at 10:01 AM on January 5, 2023, at the Illinois Department of Transportation District 8 Regional Conference Room in Collinsville, Illinois.

A roll call of members was taken:

St. Clair Co. Highway Dept. (Chair) – Norm Etling
Madison Co. Highway Dept (V. Chair) – Adam Walden
Monroe Co. Highway Dept. – Aaron Metzger
Madison County TPC – Mayor Craig Short
St. Clair County TPC – Mayor Richard Sauget
Monroe County TPC – Chris Smith*
Madison Co. Transit – SJ Morrison
St. Clair Co. Transit – Absent
Metro – Absent
IDOT – Rebecca Tharp*

Others present at the meeting were:

Phillip Freimuth – IDOT
Josh Hensley – IDOT
Jason Lange – EWGCOG
Rachael Pawlak – EWGCOG
Randy Georgen – St. Clair Co.
Jeff Taylor – O'Fallon
Rod Cheatham - Bethalto
Jay Keeven – Troy
Dave Nonn – Troy
Kevin Jemison – IDOT
Scott Slemer – Glen Carbon

Karen Geldert – IDOT Melissa Theiss – EWGCOG Anna Musial – EWGCOG Saranya Konala – EWGCOG James Fister - EWGCOG Steve Palen – Wood River Sal Elkott – Belleville Patty Gregory - Belleville Herb Roach – O'Fallon Chris Fraley - FHWA

A motion was made by Mayor Short to accept the May 9, 2022 meeting minutes, striking "Discussion regarding how the Monroe County value is assigned" from New Business. The motion was seconded by Mayor Sauget and passed unanimously by acclamation.

^{*}Authorized representative

East-West Gateway Long Range Transportation Plan – Connected 2050 Update:

Saranya Konala of EWGCOG provided an update on the Long-Range Transportation Plan. A handout on *Connected2050* was distributed and referenced during the discussion. Ms. Konala discussed the 16 Guiding Principles of the plan. There may be a call for a joint IL/MO TPC in the future.

STU & CMAQ Funding Solicitation Update:

Jason Lange discussed the ongoing STU & CMAQ solicitation. EWGCOG issued a call for applications on November 4, 2022. Upcoming panel review virtual workshops are scheduled for Friday mornings this month with time slots still available on January 20th and January 27th. Project applications are to be submitted electronically and are due on February 9, 2023.

City of Troy discussed an existing project - FY24 Spring Valley Road Phase 3, a project which they currently no longer want to pursue. Mr. Lange indicated that they should submit a formal letter to EWGCOG outlining this.

Establish Priorities for FY 2024-2026 Transportation Alternatives Program Projects:

Melissa Theiss of EWGCOG discussed the Transportation Alternatives Program (TAP) application and selection process, following the "2022-12-21 ITPC Memo – FY 2023-2026 TIP – Illinois Local Program – TAP". A call for applications went out on June 1, 2022 with a workshop held on June 14, 2022. Applications were due on August 19, 2022. EWGCOG received 21 applications totaling \$10.8 million in federal funds with a TAP allotment estimated to be \$3.6M through FY 2027.

Projects were evaluated using the criteria based on the principles in the long-range transportation plan, *Connected2045*. Projects were then ranked highest to lowest based on scores. Project scores and rankings were presented in the handout labeled Attachment A.

It was noted that two projects that are recommended for TAP had also submitted for Illinois Transportation Enhancement Program (ITEP) funding and that if these projects are selected for ITEP, a contingency list of projects for TAP funding were listed (Mascoutah: N Jefferson St Shared Use Path Phase 2 and St. Clair County Transit District: Swansea-Fairview Heights Trail Phase 1). The floor was open for any comments or questions about the project proposals. There was discussion about having one project per agency for TAP. EWGCOG was not aware of any current rule in place. Discussion was had regarding previous TAP rankings in 2018 involving the City of Columbia in which 2 projects were highly ranked but it was determined that only one project could be selected to follow a 'one

project per agency' rule. Adam Walden made a motion to approve the rankings as they were presented with the contingency project list being modified to exclude the St. Clair County Transit District project, thus making the 2nd contingency project be Bethalto: Erwin Pledge Blvd Shared Use Path Phase 2. The motion was seconded by Aaron Metzger and passed by a Roll Call vote tally (Norm Etling – No, Adam Walden – Yes, Aaron Metzger – Yes, Mayor Short – Yes, Chris Smith – Yes, Mayor Sauget – Yes, S.J. Morrison – Yes, Rebecca Tharp – Vote not necessary since majority already counted)

New Business:

- 1. There was previous discussion about having 'one project per agency' in TAP. Adam Walden made a motion to set up a policy to allow only one project per sponsor for TAP selection. The motion was seconded by Mayor Sauget and passed.
- 2. Rebecca Tharp provided an update from Central Bureau of Local Roads & Streets:
 - a. The new Road, Bridge, and Other Related Laws of Illinois book is ready. The last version was a green book and this new version is yellow. A circular letter will be issued soon.
 - b. Early next week the new agreement (without GATA) is expected to be released.
 - c. The annual marks have come in and are validated so they should be sent out in the next week or so. They are close to issuing a circular letter on this.
 - d. The remaining Local Roads forms have been converted to electronic signature and will be posted soon if not already done. The only hang up that is still being worked through is that the comptroller does not accept an electronic seal so if it is something that needs to be sealed, the form cannot be done electronically.
- 3. There was discussion about life cycle factors with buses and the intent of CMAQ funding. Adam Walden made a motion to look into adding life cycle into the CMAQ applications. Mayor Sauget seconded and the motion was passed.

Establish the Schedule for the Next Meeting of the ITPC:

The next TPC meeting dates are anticipated to be held in early May 2023. It was determined that the Illinois TPC would be held on May 4, 2023. The Madison TPC, Monroe TPC, and St. Clair TPC will be held prior to that date and likely that same week.

A motion was made by Mayor Sauget to adjourn the meeting at 11:00 AM. The motion was seconded by Aaron Metzger and it passed unanimously by acclamation. The meeting was adjourned.

Rebecca L. Tharp, P.E.

RIN

Secretary

Enclosures:

Final Meeting Minutes – May 9, 2022 ITPC EWGCOG Handout – Connected2050 2022-12-21 ITPC Memo – FY 2023-2026 TIP – Illinois Local Program - TAP

cc: All Committee Members

Kirk Brown Joel Cumby Jason Lange – EWGCOG Rachael Pawlak – EWGCOG

Betsy Tracy – FHWA

George Tapas – IDOT CBLRS Ryan Zwijack - Edwardsville All Attendees
Gwen Lagemann
Tom Caldwell – IDOT OP&P
Kevin Jemison – IDOT

Mike Vanderhoof – IDOT OP&P

Chris Fraley – FHWA

Lee Ann Prather - IDOT OP&P