

Creating Solutions Across Jurisdictional Boundaries

MEMORANDUM

TO: Missouri Transportation Planning Committee

FROM: East-West Gateway Staff

DATE: Friday, October 1, 2021

SUBJECT: Wednesday, October 6, 2021 meeting

DUE TO THE OUTBREAK OF COVID-19, THE COUNCIL'S OFFICES ARE CURRENTLY CLOSED TO THE PUBLIC AND WILL BE UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE.

The next meeting of the Missouri subcommittee of the Transportation Planning Committee (TPC) is scheduled for Wednesday, October 6, 2021 at 2:00 p.m. The TPC will take place via video conference using the gotomeeting webinar platform.

The public can view and/or listen to the meeting via:

Computer: https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/8535436616535906059

Webinar ID: 571-976-507

If you have any questions or concerns regarding the enclosed materials or the upcoming meeting please contact EWGCOG. The agenda for the meeting is as follows:

<u>AGENDA</u>

- Call to order
- 2. 2022 STP-S/CMAQ Round Jason Lange, EWG
- Functional Classification Revisions Brenden Giblin, EWG ACTION
 ITEM
- 4. Reasonable Progress Brad Williams, EWG
- Other Business
 - Next meeting scheduled for Wednesday, November 3, 2021 at 2 PM

Chairman, St. Clair County Board

Executive Committee

Madison County Board

County Executive, Jefferson County

Chair

Kurt Prenzler Chairman

Vice Chair Dennis Gannon

2nd Vice Chair

Mark A. Kern

Tim Brinker Presiding Commissioner Franklin County Steve Ehlmann County Executive St. Charles County

> Tishaura Jones Mayor City of St. Louis Vicki Koerber

County Board Chairman Monroe County Dr. Sam Page

County Executive, St. Louis County

Members

Terry Briggs President Municipal League of Metro St. Louis Ron Counts Mayor, City of Arnold Jefferson County

Jefferson County Honorable Rita Heard Days Councilwoman, 1st Council District St. Louis County Robert Eastern III

Mayor, City of East St. Louis Mark Kupsky President, Southwestern Illinois Council of Mayors

Roy Mosley St. Clair County Lewis Reed President, Board of Aldermen

President, Board of Aldermen City of St. Louis David Schwind Township Clerk,Madison County

Herbert Simmons President, Southwestern Illinois Metropolitan & Regional Planning Commission Seth Speiser

Vice President, Southwestern İllinois Council of Mayors Donald R. Summers, Jr. St. Louis County

> John White St. Charles County

Regional Citizens
Barbara Geisman
C. William Grogan
John A. Laker

Ron Williams

Non-voting Members

Holly Bieneman
Illinois Department of Transportation

Illinois Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity Patrick McKenna

Missouri Department of Transportation Taulby Roach Bi-State Development

Bi-State Development

Aaron Willard

Missouri Office of Administration

Executive Director

James M. Wild

Gateway Tower One Memorial Drive, Suite 1600 St. Louis, MO 63102-2451

314-421-4220 618-274-2750 Fax 314-231-6120

webmaster@ewgateway.org www.ewgateway.org



Creating Solutions Across Jurisdictional Boundaries

Kurt Prenzler Chairman Madison County Board

Vice Chair

Dennis Gannon
County Executive, Jefferson County

2nd Vice Chair

Chair

Mark A. Kern Chairman, St. Clair County Board

Executive Committee

Tim Brinker
Presiding Commissioner
Franklin County
Steve Ehlmann
County Executive
St. Charles County
Tishaura Jones
Mayor
City of St. Louis
Vicki Koerber

County Board Chairman

Monroe County

Dr. Sam Page
County Executive, St. Louis County

Members

Terry Briggs
President
Municipal League of Metro St. Louis
Ron Counts
Mayor, City of Arnold
Jefferson County
Honorable Rita Heard Days
Councilwoman, 1st Council District

Councilwoman, 1st Council District
St. Louis County
Robert Eastern III
Mayor, City of East St. Louis

Mark Kupsky President, Southwestern Illinois Council of Mayors

Roy Mosley St. Clair County Lewis Reed

President, Board of Aldermen City of St. Louis David Schwind

Township Clerk, Madison County Herbert Simmons

President, Southwestern Illinois Metropolitan & Regional Planning Commission Seth Speiser

Vice President, Southwestern Illinois Council of Mayors

Donald R. Summers, Jr. St. Louis County John White

Regional Citizens
Barbara Geisman
C. William Grogan
John A. Laker

Ron Williams

St. Charles County

Non-voting Members
Holly Bieneman
Illinois Department of Transportation

Vacant
Illinois Department of Transportation
Acant
Illinois Department of Commerce
and Economic Opportunity
Patrick McKenna

Patrick McKenna Missouri Department of Transportation Taulby Roach Bi-State Development Aaron Willard Missouri Office of Administration

> Executive Director James M. Wild

To: Transportation Planning Committee

From: Staff

Date: October 1, 2021

Subject: Functional Classification Update

Functional classification is the process by which all roadways are grouped into classes according to the type of service they provide. The Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) requires the use of functional classification to determine eligibility for federal funding. There are three principal roadway classifications: arterial, collector, and local roads. To be eligible for Surface Transportation Block Grant – Suballocated (STP-S) funds, a roadway must be classified as a minor collector or higher in an urban area or a major collector or higher in a rural area.

In order to accurately reflect changes in land use and travel patterns, staff, along with the Missouri Department of Transportation (MoDOT) and the Illinois Department of Transportation (IDOT) solicits revision applications from member agencies semi-annually and conducts a full system review every three to five years. County and municipal officials submitted applications requesting functional class changes to East-West Gateway in May of 2021 Staff worked with MoDOT and local officials to prepare this update.

The applications were reviewed in the context of FHWA guidelines including mobility, accessibility, and connectivity. Requested changes are recommended where it is deemed that a road's current classification is no longer consistent with its function. Sometimes, current conditions do not support a change in classification as requested.

At this time, two changes in Missouri are recommended to the system. One application is not recommended because it does not meet the criteria for a change in classification at this time. A list showing the recommended changes is included in this memo. Once approved by the Board of Directors, the update will be sent to MoDOT headquarters for final review and subsequent submittal to FHWA for final approval.

Staff Recommendation:

Staff recommends adoption of the functional classification update as shown on the following pages.

Gateway Tower One Memorial Drive, Suite 1600 St. Louis, MO 63102-2451

314-421-4220 618-274-2750 Fax 314-231-6120

webmaster@ewgateway.org www.ewgateway.org

East-West Gateway May 2021 Functional Classification Application Period								
Recommended Functional Classification Modifications - Missouri								
Map #	Name	Segment Limits	Mileage	County	Requesting Agency	Federal-Aid Urbanized Area Boundary	Current Classification	Recommended Classification
1	Woodwind Drive/ Elkins Drive/Atmore Drive	Trask Drive to New Halls Ferry Drive	0.60	St. Louis	Ferguson	Urban	Local Road	Minor Collector
2	Regency Parkway	Zumbehl Road to Veterans Memorial Parkway	0.36	St. Charles	St. Charles City	Urban	Local Road	Minor Collector
Not Recommended Functional Classification Modifications - Missouri								
Map #	Name	Segment Limits	Mileage	County	Requesting Agency	Federal-Aid Urbanized Area Boundary	Current Classification	Recommended Classification
	St. Louis Avenue	Adams Street to Paul Avenue	0.28	St. Louis	Ferguson	Urban	Local Road	Local Road



