Architecture Scope

The scope of the St. Louis Regional ITS Architecture can be described in terms of: 1) the size of the region and jurisdictions covered (geographic scope), 2) the planning or time horizon, and 3) the variety of transportation services that are covered. This scope is defined in the context of adjacent and overlapping Regional ITS Architectures.


The East-West Gateway Council of Governments (EWG) is updating the Intelligent Transportation System (ITS) Architecture for the St. Louis Metropolitan Region. The Architecture is a framework to define the region's ITS plans and how future projects will integrate and interoperate with existing systems. 

v1.0.0 - Published June 30, 2015 
v1.1 - Updated July 10, 2015

Time Frame

2015 to 2025

Geographic Scope

The St. Louis Regional ITS Architecture covers 7 of the 16 St. Louis Metropolitan Statistical Area counties plus the city of St. Louis. These counties fall within the boundaries of the East-West Gateway Council of Governments (EWG) planning area. Four of the counties and the independent City of St. Louis are in the state of Missouri while the remaining three counties are in the state of Illinois: 
" St. Louis City (MO) 
" St. Louis County (MO) 
" Franklin County (MO) 
" Jefferson County (MO) 
" St. Charles County (MO) 
" Madison County (IL) 
" Monroe County (IL) 
" St. Clair County (IL)

Service Scope

Integrated Deployment of Intelligent Transportation Systems, supporting a Secure Multimodal Transportation System that improves Quality of Life and Customer Satisfaction by ensuring a Safer and Less Congested Transportation Network.