Outstanding Local Government Achievement Awards

East-West Gateway Council of Governments’ (EWG) Outstanding Local Government Achievement (OLGA) Awards honor the extraordinary work of individuals, municipal and county governments/departments, special purpose districts and public educational institutions in the city of St. Louis and Franklin, Jefferson, St. Charles and St. Louis counties in Missouri and Madison, Monroe and St. Clair counties in Illinois.

Congratulations to Our 2017 OLGA Award Winners

The 2017 OLGA Award winners were honored during a ceremony at EWG’s 52nd annual meeting on Nov. 17. You can find the list of winners for each category below, along with a video describing their accomplishments. For more detail, view the 2017 OLGA Awards program.

Exemplary Accomplishment by a Local Government Jurisdiction, Agency, or Individual

David K. Tan, M.D.

Manufacture/Craft Your Future

Leadership Council Southwestern Illinois, Madison County Workforce Investment Board, Mid America Workforce Investment Board, Southern Illinois Builders Association, and St. Clair County Intergovernmental Grants Department

Exemplary Intergovernmental Collaboration

St. Louis Regional Freightway

Consolidated Municipal Courts

Cities of St. Ann, Beverly Hills, Charlack, Northwoods, Vinita Park, and Wellston

Exemplary Public/Non-profit Collaboration

House of Neighborly Service and the City of Waterloo

City Energy Project

City of St. Louis and the Missouri Gateway Chapter of the U.S. Green Building Council

Leadership in Planning and Design Innovation

“Your Library Renewed”

St. Louis County Library District

Upper Silver Creek Watershed Plan

HeartLands Conservancy and Madison County

2017 Gateway Lifetime Public Service Awards

Edward Hillhouse and Nancy Thompson each received Gateway Lifetime Public Service awards for their substantial contributions to public sector leadership. You can learn more about their accomplishments in the 2017 OLGA Awards program.

Looking for OLGA Award Winners from Prior Years?

EWG’s Library contains important agency documents including those from prior years.  Use the link below to access OLGA award winners from 2013 through 2016.

OLGA Award Winners


Contact EWG staff by phone at (314) 421.4220 or (618) 274.2750 or by email at awards@ewgateway.org.